Favorite Reads of 2009

There’s been lots of “Favorite Books of 2009” lists floating out there in the blog-o-sphere lately, so here’s my humble offering, in no particular order:

  1. The Bartimaeus Trilogy, by Jonathan Stroud
  2. Hunger Games and Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins
  3. Fire and Hemlock, by Diana Wynne Jones
  4. Curse Dark as Gold, by Elizabeth C. Bunce
  5. The Claidi Journals, by Tanith Lee
  6. The Winter Prince, by Elizabeth E. Wein

What were your favorites?

5 thoughts on “Favorite Reads of 2009

  1. Hunger Games and Catching Fire
    What I Saw and How I Lied
    Neil Armstrong Is My Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me
    The Forest of Hands and Teeth
    Going Bovine
    When You Reach Me

  2. That is a good list!

    As for me, I can't remember all the books I have read last year, but from what I *do* remember my favorites are listed as follows:

    The Italian by Ann Radcliffe
    The Farthest Shore by Ursula LeGuin
    The Gospel According to Peanuts by Robert Short
    Mimosa by Amy Carmichael
    The Samurai by Shusaku Endo

  3. Great list! I really liked the Bartimaeus trilogy, too.

    Here's my list:
    Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell
    The Miles Between by Mary Pearson
    Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
    The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp
    Shift by Jennifer Bradbury
    The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

  4. Looks like my to-be-read pile is gonna have to increase! 🙂

    Tabitha, so glad you enjoyed the Bartimaeus trilogy, too! I really don't know how I missed it back when it was first published!

Leave a Reply

